What is National Awards and How many Types of National Awards

Bharat Ratna

Bharat Ratna is India’s highest Civilian Award. It was first awarded in 1954.

Padma Awards

Padma Awards, which were instituted in 1954, is announced every year on the occasion of Republic Day. The award is given in three categories-Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The awards fall in line after the Bharat Ratna.

There are three Padma Awards

Padma Vibhushan

This is the second highest National Award given for exceptional and distinguished service in any field including service rendered by government employee.

Padma Bhushan

This is the third highest National ward given for distinguished service in any field.

Padma Shri

This is the fourth highest award given for distinguished service in any field.

Bharatiya Jnanpith Award

Instituted in 22nd May, 1961, carries a cash prize of Rs. 11 Lakh, a citation and bronze replica of Vegdevi (Saraswati).

This award is given for the best literary writing by an Indian citizen in a language listed in Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution.

Gandhi Peace Prize

Established in 2nd October, 1994, on the occasion of the 125th birthday anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, carries a cash prize of Rs 1 crore.

Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace,

Disarmament and Development

Instituted in 1985, this prestigious award is regarded as ‘Nobel’ and over the years, it has been awarded to those people who have done outstanding work for international peace, disarmament and development.

Barlaug Award

Instituted in 1973, carries a cash prize of Rs. 5 Lakh.

Instituted to honour outstanding agricultural scientists.

Sahitya Akedemi Award

Awarded for outstanding literary work and carries a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh.

Sahitya Academy given 22 awards for literary works in the languages which has recognized works.

Check Also:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *