SSC CGL 2017 Exam Pattern – SSC CGL Notification and Exam Prepration/Tayari

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts the Combined Graduate Level (CGL) every year in four levels for various posts. Exam Pattern – The Examination will be conducted in four tiers as indicated below:

Tier – I
Type – Objective Multiple Choice
Mode – Computer Based (online)

Tier – II
Type – Objective Multiple Choice
Mode – Computer Based (online)

Tier – III
Type – Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi
Mode – Pen and Paper mode

Tier – IV
Type – Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test
Mode – Wherever Applicable

The modifications to SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2017 for Tier 1 & 2 are given below:
• SSC CGL 2017 Tier 1 and Tier 2 exam will be conducted in online mode.
• Introduction of a descriptive paper of 100 marks within 60 minutes in pen and paper mode.
• Reduction in time limit for examination of Tier -I from 120 minutes to 75 minutes.
• Tier II will remain same.
• No Sectional Cut off.

SSC CGL Syllabus 2017: SSC CGL Tier 1 Syllabus

There are 4 sections in the Tier 1 exam of SSC CGL 2017, with 100 questions which account for a total of 200 marks.

1. General Intelligence and Reasoning – 25 Questions
2. General Awareness – 25 Questions
3. Quantitative Aptitude – 25 Questions
4. English Comprehension – 25 Questions

• Max Marks for every Subject – 50
• Total Marks – 200
• Exam Duration – 75 minutes

Important Points:
• There is negative marking in SSC CGL 2017 Tier 1 Exam. Giving a wrong answer to a question will lead to a penalty of 0.5 marks in all sections
• The exam duration is 100 minutes for candidates who are visually handicapped.

2. SSC CGL Tier 2 Syllabus

This is an objective exam which will be conducted online. The subject-wise details are given below:

1. Quantitative Abilities – 100 Questions
2. English Language and Comprehension – 100 Questions
3. Statistics – 100 Questions
4. General Studies (Finance & Economics) – 100 Questions

• Max Marks for every Subject – 200
• Exam Duration – 2 Hours

Important Points:
• There is negative marking in SSC CGL 2017 Tier 2 exam. Giving a wrong answer to a question will lead to a penalty of 0.5 marks in Paper-1,3,4 and 0.25 marks in Paper-2.
• The exam duration is 2 Hours and 40 Minutes for candidates who are visually handicapped.

3. SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam Syllabus:

This is a descriptive exam that is designed to test the written skills of the candidates in English/Hindi.

Important Points:
• The exam is of 60 minutes’ duration and carries 100 marks.
• The questions are based on 10+2 level.
• The exam is qualifying in nature.
• The exam duration is 80 minutes for candidates who are visually handicapped or suffer from cerebral palsy.

4. SSC CGL Tier 4 Exam Syllabus:

The Tier 4 of SSC CGL Exam 2017 comprises of a couple of skill tests which are required for certain government posts.

1. DEST (Data Entry Speed Test): This skill test is of qualifying nature for all the posts, other than Compiler, and is used to check the typing speed of the candidate. The candidates are given printed matter in English which they must accurately type on a computer with a minimum of 2000 (two thousand) key depressions in a duration of 15 (fifteen) minutes.

2. CPT (Computer Proficiency Test):The Commission will hold CPT, comprising three modules – Word Processing, Spread Sheet and Generation of Slides, for applicants for the post of Assistants of CSS. CPT will be of a qualifying nature.

SSC CGL Eligibility Criteria:

There are 4 important criteria which a candidate must fulfill in order to be eligible for the SSC CGL 2017. The 4 parameters are given below:

1. Citizenship: Candidate must be a citizen of India
2. Age Limit: There are different set of age limits for different posts in SSC CGL Exam 2017, which are tabulated below:

Required Age Limit:

• 20-30 years for Assistant Section Officer Sub-Inspector (Group “B”)
• 21-27 years for Intelligence Bureau Assistant Post
• 20-30 years for Inspector of Income Tax, Inspector of Central Excise, Inspector (Preventive officer), Upper Division Clerk, Inspector (CBN) Compiler, Assistant • Enforcement Officer, Inspector (Examiner), Junior Accountant, Sub-Inspector (CBN) Inspector of Posts, Divisional Accountants, Auditors, Tax Assistants, Auditor
• Not exceeding 30 years forAssistant Audit Officer Assistant Enforcement Officer7
• Up to 32 years for Statistical Investigator Gr. II
• 18-25 years for Sub-Inspector (Group “C”)
The Government has also provided for Age relaxation for some categories

SSC CGL Post Educational Qualification:

The educational qualifications varies according to the post for SSC CGL 2017 and is listed below:

• Assistant Audit Officer – Bachelor’s Degree in any subject from a recognized University OR Desirable Qualification: CA/CS/MBA/Cost & Management Accountant/ Masters in Commerce/ Masters in Business Studies
• Statistical Investigator Grade – II Post – Bachelor’s Degree from any recognized University with minimum 60% in Mathematics in Class 12th OR Bachelor’s Degree in any discipline with Statistics as one of the subjects in graduation
• Compiler Posts – Bachelor’s Degree from any recognized University with Economics or Statistics or Mathematics as compulsory or Elective Subject
• All Other Posts – Bachelor’s Degree in any discipline from a recognized University or equivalent

Physical Fitness Requirements:

Apart from the above, there are certain requisite Physical Standards for Inspector (Central Excise/ Examiner/Preventive Officer), Sub-Inspector in CBI (Central Bureau of Investigation) and Sub-Inspector in NIA (National Investigation Agency).

SSC CGL Application Fee:

• The required application fee is Rs. 100/-
• Exemption: No fee is required to be paid by female, SC, ST, Physically Handicapped, and Ex-Servicemen candidates