General Knowledge

General Knowledge about Parliament of India, Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha is the Lower House of the Parliament and its first sitting took place on 13th May, 1952. The current Lok Sabha is the 16th constituted Lok Sabha. Three Sessions of the Lok Sabha are held every year, namely Budget Session (February to May), Monsoon Session (July to September); and Winter Session (November to December).

Members 530 from states, 20 from Union Territories and 2 nominated by the President, from the Anglo Indian Community.

Election The representatives of the states are directly elected by the people of the states on the basis of adult suffrage.

Qualifications for members of the parliament Article 84 provides for the eligibility for membership of the Parliament. The Conditions are

  • Citizen of India;
  • At least 25 years of age for the Lok Sabha and 30 years of age for the Rajya Sabha; and
  • Possess such other qualification as may be prescribed by the Parliament.

Bills It may be classified as ordinary, money, financial and Constitutional Amendments.

  • The Ordinary Bills Can be introduced in either House of the Parliament, but money Bills can be initiated only in the House of the People.
  • After a money bill has been passed by the Lok Sabha, it is sent to eh Rajya Sabha for deliberations. The Rajya Sabha is given 14 days to make recommendations, which can be accepted or not by the Lok Sabha.
  • Article 111 stipulates that a money bill cannot be returned to the House by the President for reconsideration.

Speaker of the Lok Sabha

  • As soon as a new Lok Sabha is constituted, the President appoints a Speaker pro-tem, who is generally the senior most member of the House.
  • Speaker is the head of Lok Sabha. He/She is elected from amongst the members of Lok Sabha. The Speaker of the Lok Sabha conducts the business is also elected to officiate in the absence of the Speaker.

Facts about Speaker

  • GV Mavlankar was the first speaker of the Lok Sabha (1952-1956)
  • MA Ayyangar was the first Deputy Speaker (1952-1956).
  • Dr Balram Jakhar was the longest serving Speaker (1980-2002)
  • Meira Kumar is the first woman speaker of the Lok Sabha (2009-2013)
  • Sumitra Mahajan (2014-Present)
Error: View dc46e4cc3t may not exist