General Knowledge

General Knowledge about Rajya Sabha (Council of states)

Rajya Sabha is the upper house of the parliament and the first sitting of the rajya sabha was held on 3rd April, 1952.

  • The maximum permissible strength of the Rajya Sabha is 250. Of these, 238 members are elected indirectly from the states and union territories, and 12 are nominated by the president for their expertise in art, literature, science and social services (Article 80).
  • Currently, the strength of the Rajya Sabha is 245. Of these, 229 members are elected from states and 4 members represent union territories and 12 members are nominated by the President.
  • The Rajya Sabha is a permanent House and is not subject to dissolution and members enjoy it’s a tenure of six years. However, one-third of the members retire every second years (Article 83).
  • It shares legislative powers with the Lok Sabha, except in the case of Money Bill where the Lok Sabha has overriding powers.
Error: View dc46e4cc3t may not exist